IITP Sites:  

New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards

The premier awards for IT Professionals and teams in NZ


WHEN 7pm Friday 10th October 2014
WHERE The Atrium, Rendezvous Grand Auckland

Black tie gala dinner for the NZ Excellence in IT Awards

COST Free for ITx delegates, $169 for others

Jeremy Corbett hosts the inaugural New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards, an action-packed  evening full of surprises and celebrating the unsung heroes in the IT industry.

This black tie dinner will be full of surprises – expect the unexpected. Following the awards,  Auckland group The Mermaids will rock away  until the wee small hours, with an open bar until really late.

You can find out more about the awards at iitp.nz/awards

One of New Zealand's most established and esteemed musical line-ups; based in Auckland The Mermaids feature three female vocalists: Joe Cotton, Amber Claire and Pauline Berry, accompanied by keyboardist Stuart Pearce.

They perform mostly popular dance music from the 1970's to now. With glamorous costumes and fun, accessible onstage personalities, they never fail to deliver a full and satisfying night of musical entertainment.

Joe Cotton is a well known radio and TV personality, one of the original “Popstars” as a member of “True Bliss”. Amber Claire recorded two albums with Sony NZ and had a top ten hit with "At 17". Paul Berry has appeared both backing and lead vocalist on many musical entertainment TV Shows. Stuart Pearce has toured with music legends Chuck Berry and The RockMelons. He has worked with Adam Lambert and Supergroove in the studio. In 2011 entered the New Zealand Hall of Fame as a member of “Hello Sailor”.

 If you're not coming to ITx, you can register for the Awards Gala Dinner here.



The following are the finalists for the 2014 New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards. The Sector Awards represent excellence in general sector categories and may change each year, with the Supreme Awards being awarded every year. Refer to www.iitp.nz/awards for more information



IT Project Excellence Award

In partnership with Project Management Institute of NZ and sponsored by
Vector Communications

Christchurch ImproveIT Project Infoxchange
OSPRI Insite Project Team OSPRI New Zealand
Wynyard Risk 9 Project Wynyard Group



Excellence in Software

In partnership with the NZ Software Association and sponsored by
Software Escrow NZ Ltd

Mike Burton and Sam Norris Manukau Institute of Technology
OSPRI Animal Disease Management System OSPRI New Zealand
Edwin Dando Assurity Consulting Limited



Excellence in Health Informatics

In partnership with Health Informatics NZ and sponsored by Orion Health

Ken Leech Procon Limited
Stella Ward Canterbury District Health Board
Susan Miles Canterbury District Health Board



Excellence in IT Education

In partnership with CITRENZ and sponsored by MBIE

Computers in Homes Project 2020 Communications Trust
Samuel Mann Otago Polytechnic
Dr. Tim Bell University of Canterbury



Excellence in Public Sector IT

In partnership with GOVIS and sponsored by Datacom

Land Information New Zealand Data Service
Department of Internal Affairs Passport Redevelopment project
Ministry of Social Development Social Housing Transfer Contact Centre project



Internet Entrepreneur of the Year

In partnership with InternetNZ and sponsored by the Internet Industry Awards

Andrew Butel CEO, Hoist Apps Ltd
Keith Patton CEO, Marker Metro Ltd
Craig Smith Founder and CEO, Education Perfect



Young IT Professional of the Year

In partnership with NZRise and sponsored by Marker Studio

Tanya Gray Gather Workshops
Josh Lowry University of Otago
Josh Klazinga Wynyard Group


IITP President's Award for Contribution to the IT Profession

This award will be presented by IITP without public nominations or finalists



New Zealand IT Professional of the Year

In partnership with the Institute of IT Professionals NZ and sponsored by Potentia

Gareth Berry Unleashed Software
Russell Bennett Spendvision
Shane Hastie Software Education

If you're not coming to ITx, you can register for the Awards Gala Dinner here.